Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: General
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-26- 07:56:30 
N9YIW
Member
Joined: 2015-05-18- 12:29:13
Posts: 2
Location

I would like to setup a tunnel since I am not in RF range of any other nodes.

Anyone willing to offer access to their mesh?


Thanks,

Daryl

N9YIW

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-27- 11:20:48 
AB9U
Member
Joined: 2012-03-06- 08:19:44
Posts: 39
Location: Cottonwood, AZ
 
Did you get an answer?
IP Logged
de Wil - AB9U
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-27- 12:29:44 
N6DLH
Member
Joined: 2011-12-27- 20:03:33
Posts: 14
Location: Hampton Virginia
 

I have a tunnel server setup, if you would like to try and tunnel to my server. Just give me the node name of your Tunnel Client. Make sure you are open on port 5525. We have been playing around with a tunnel between Here and NC, but have been running into some trouble of seeing the other nodes and not being able to access them or advertised services. We Initially though it was due to both nodes being the gateway.

Oh and an email so I can send you the information for your tunnel client.

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2015-05-27- 12:30:32 By N6DLH for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-27- 13:56:51 
N9YIW
Member
Joined: 2015-05-18- 12:29:13
Posts: 2
Location
Thanks for your response. Node name is N9YIW-2 and email is telecom_guy@hotmail.com .
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-28- 07:12:00 
k5dlq
Member
Joined: 2012-05-11- 08:05:13
Posts: 233
Location: Magnolia, TX USA
 
BTW, the tunnel CLIENT does not need to open port 5525 INBOUND on their router, only the SERVER. The client does NOTHING special on their router.
IP Logged
Darryl - K5DLQ
www.aredn.org
 Subject :Re:Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-28- 13:01:37 
N6DLH
Member
Joined: 2011-12-27- 20:03:33
Posts: 14
Location: Hampton Virginia
 


Check Your Email




[N9YIW 2015-05-27- 13:56:51]:

Thanks for your response. Node name is N9YIW-2 and email is telecom_guy@hotmail.com .

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-28- 13:03:51 
N6DLH
Member
Joined: 2011-12-27- 20:03:33
Posts: 14
Location: Hampton Virginia
 



Good to know, Thank You




[k5dlq 2015-05-28- 07:12:00]:

BTW, the tunnel CLIENT does not need to open port 5525 INBOUND on their router, only the SERVER. The client does NOTHING special on their router.

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-29- 06:38:53 
AB9U
Member
Joined: 2012-03-06- 08:19:44
Posts: 39
Location: Cottonwood, AZ
 
>BTW, the tunnel CLIENT does not need to open port 5525 INBOUND on their router, only the >SERVER. The client does NOTHING special on their router. >Darryl - K5DLQ Hello Daryl... quick question... what port DOES the client go out on to initiate a port 5525 connection at the Server end? It has to start some place. And if this is well documented already elsewhere please just point me in that direction. I have a client trying to connect from Canada to my server here and it's not working and I wonder if there's there's a subtle bug in the naming. For instance, if I change from AB9U-BASE to ab9u-base, then I cannot connect to AL's server VE3RRD. If I change the name of the router back to all capitals then I can connect again. Also, when entering the name of the remote client in my server window, the name get's capitalized immediately. But that's not true when entering e name into the client window. It seems the server name is case dependent even though the displayed window is in upper case always. Have you run across this before? All the routers in question are 54GS V2's.
IP Logged
de Wil - AB9U
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2015-05-29- 09:02:35 
k5dlq
Member
Joined: 2012-05-11- 08:05:13
Posts: 233
Location: Magnolia, TX USA
 

It does use port 5525.  The client is initiating an outbound connection though, so, no INBOUND firewall rules on your "internal" network needs to be set.

On the server, it ACCEPTS incoming requests on 5525 and DOES need to port forward 5525 to your tunnel server.

Also, yes, the naming must match exactly (case-sensitive).  This is a known issue and will be corrected in the next release of the tunnel solution coming soon.



IP Logged
Darryl - K5DLQ
www.aredn.org
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:34:44 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:35:04 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:35:10 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:35:13 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:35:40 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska KC0EQA/ Doug
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-07-01- 05:35:42 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
I need a tunnel client for Nebraska KC0EQA/ Doug
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Looking for a tunnel server.. 2018-08-20- 13:33:21 
KC0EQA
Member
Joined: 2016-03-06- 21:59:12
Posts: 7
Location
Guess Im not going to get back on the system. I had Rob from the UK, but evidently he's getting out of HSMM. Dont know anyone on the mesh close to me to be a client so might as well quit too
IP Logged
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: